The Coconut Revolution: An Interview with Francis Ona

One of the most important historical issues concerning the Independent State of Papua New Guinea was the Bougainville crisis – it left a lasting impact on both the people of PNG and Bougainville.

And Bougainville will continue to play an important role in the future of PNG as we work towards hopefully granting the current autonomous region full independence by 2020.

The following video provides a brilliant perspective on Francis Ona and Joseph Kabui (the two now deceased founding fathers of a united and soon to be independent Bougainville) before the peace cease-fire was signed between the PNG Government and the Bougainville Revolutionary Army (BRA):

~ by Tavurvur on October 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Coconut Revolution: An Interview with Francis Ona”

  1. I saw the TV Show of Breaking Bows and Arrows. I thought it was an interesting part of history that I was not aware of. It made me feel that despite of what my africian ancesters when through being brought to American and being enslaved was terrifying to my people. But to see how others live on the other side of the earth is unbeleivable. It makes me be happy that I was not born in those countries. I pray that those people continue to make and keep peace with each other.

  2. I will be praying that Breaking the Bows and Arrows for forgiveness and peace with continue with the people.

What do you think?