Dancing with the Huli Wigmen

Some of you have been wondering where I have been for the past week in regards to my blog because I do regularly update it – a one week break being almost an eternity for me!

Well, I’ve been out of the country for a conference (there’s a couple more just around the corner so do expect some more uncharacteristic stoppages in the not so too distant future) and I just couldn’t squeeze in the time to update my blog.

However, while at the conference I stumbled across a man, his mission and his video – on YouTube.

His name: Matt Harding.

His mission: To dance with people from around the world.

His video: Amazing.

So far his 2008 video has over 10 million hits and if you search YouTube using the word “dancing” – his video will be the first one listed.

And yes, there is a Papua New Guinea connection. There always is a PNG connection because this is a blog about PNG. And In this case it is Poria outside of Tari in the Southern Highlands of PNG.

Check it out:

NOTE:

I’ve also included the original clip where Matt is filming the Huli Wig-Men:

NOTE:

If you think about it, those 10 million hits on that video alone is essentially 10 million people who have seen a small bit of the culture of PNG – even if it is for only 5 seconds.

That’s powerful marketing.

The PNG Tourism Authority (PNGTA) should look into doing something like this – or the possibility of launching a viral video via YouTube to promote our country.

I hardly doubt that the PNGTA in its entire life as an organisation has been able to capture 5 seconds worth of time from 10 million people across the world over.

~ by Tavurvur on September 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “Dancing with the Huli Wigmen”

  1. I must say, I was one of those 10,000,000 visitors to the youtube video of Matt and two countries caught my eye. India and PNG, traveling is my passion and although can’t do as often as I would like, each year I try to visit a different place. I am thinking of visiting PNG next year after watching the video and reading about its culture and history.

    Thanks for the blog and YES it works 🙂

    Kind regards,
    Joel – Dominican Republic

  2. Thanks Joel for your comment!

    I guess I have to thank Matt Harding as well – because without his video, you wouldn’t have commented on this post in the first place.

    I wonder how many more others want to experience a little bit of PNG thanks to that video?

    I wish you the best in all your travels – and if you do eventually come to PNG, let me know. I could put you in the right direction.

    Regards,

    Tavurvur

What do you think?

